img 1829

‘Family Together’, Supporting the families of children in conflict with the law - News from Omoana - May 2024

In Uganda and Iraq, children in conflict with the law have generally been exposed to situations of extreme violence. Various forms of exploitation, including prostitution, dangerous work, the sale of drugs and affiliation with armed groups, have affected their development. Many of those monitored by the Omoana partners have also been placed in detention in difficult conditions, far from their families. When they return, it is not always easy for their families to know how to support them emotionally.

This is why Omoana and its partners have created the ‘Family Together’ approach. These interactive sessions help families and friends to know how best to welcome children back from detention.

They are invited to reflect on the causes and contextual factors that lead children into these exploitative situations. They are also encouraged to draw inspiration from key people who have had a positive impact in their own lives to better support children and young people in their families. Sessions on child and adolescent development and the impact of trauma on children and adolescents are taught. Stress management methods for parents are also proposed. This is complemented by interactive exercises on communication and discipline, with role-plays inspired by forum theatre. Through these, they explore a way of guiding children by letting them know what behaviour is acceptable and what is not, in a way that is both firm and caring. Finally, they discuss how to boost their self-confidence. Alongside these group sessions, family members also have access to individual counselling.

Children in conflict with the law are first and foremost victims of exploitative systems, and require all the attention they can get. The method used by Omoana’s partners aims to put families at the centre of solutions. Omoana focuses on technical support and moves away from material support. Strengthening their ability to face adversity together is essential. This requires dedicated and competent social workers, whom we are lucky enough to have as partners, and to whom we try to offer the most relevant tools possible.


dsc 9295

Tackling violence against children through forum theatre - News from Omoana - May 2024

Dealing with violence is not always easy. Presentations, discussions and documentation can certainly play a part in preventing it. However, when working with children and young people suffering from exclusion, it is necessary to find interactive methods that speak to them and appeal to their senses and emotions. Omoana uses forum theatre in its projects. Derived from Brazilian playwright Augusto Boal’s Theatre of the Oppressed, this approach invites the people concerned to address situations of violence and explore solutions through play, in a participatory way. A scene recounting a situation that ends badly is presented to an audience. The members are then invited to replace one of the characters in the scene, which is replayed with the other actors improvising as realistically as possible what should happen next.

In Gulu, Uganda, children who live or work on the street present their own forum theatre scenes to the community to discuss ways of preventing violence against them. In Iraq, in the Mosul juvenile prison, children use forum theatre to discuss situations relating to their return to civilian life, and the possible discrimination they could face. This enables them to prepare for their reintegration by experiencing situations and exploring them through play. By using their senses, their ability to react appropriately will help to avoid a new cycle of violence. Other themes such as gender equality are also addressed, enabling the young people themselves to seek solutions that are often more progressive and innovative than what might be imagined in contexts where patriarchal norms prevail.

Social workers from Omoana’s partner organisations are trained in the approach and are monitored. Several workshops have already been held and the feedback has been positive. In fact, they go beyond just talking about human rights, enabling everyone to take part in a very practical discussion about living together, in order to preserve the dignity of children affected by violence.


image1(8)

Technical know-how to help children affected by violence - News from Omoana - May 2024

If people’s ability to take care of themselves and others is strengthened, their resilience, both individually and collectively, will be optimised. This is how Omoana approaches helping the most vulnerable children. By involving family and community members in the development of solutions, children will be helped in a sustainable way. This is particularly true when their protection is threatened. If we take the example of children in conflict with the law, one of the association’s beneficiary groups, they have often been victims of the most abject forms of exploitation, such as forced prostitution or enslavement to armed groups. This has disastrous consequences for their well-being and future prospects. All resources must be mobilised in response. In this context, Omoana provides technical added value to its partners dealing with complex situations. In 2023, the ‘Youth Together’ manual, which offers psychosocial and violence prevention sessions to vulnerable young people, was produced.

This year, Omoana also developed the ‘Family Together’ approach. This aims to support parents of children in conflict with the law, giving them the tools to respond to the situations created by trauma, deprivation of liberty and the resulting consequences for their rights. In addition, to ensure that the emphasis is always on interactivity and on solutions coming from the people concerned, forum theatre is a widespread tool in all Omoana projects in Uganda and Iraq. It is the subject of an article in this new issue of Omoana News. It is this technical added value, this constant energy devoted to finding concrete solutions to difficult problems, this emphasis on mutual learning between those involved in the field, that makes Omoana a particularly important organisation in the contexts in which we work. We would like to thank you for believing in us and for your moral and financial support, which enables us to move forward.

Adrien Genoud,
Director


whatsapp image 2024 05 27 à 10.37.52 d919a07a

Photo exhibition at the benefit of Omoana in Brussels

On 23 May 2024, the photographer Max Collier – brother of Chloé Collier, our coordinator – organised his very first photo exhibition in partnership with and in aid of Omoana in Brussels, Belgium. It was a huge success, with around 200 people attending the event!

For those who missed it, here’s the reason behind the event:

“In July 2022, Max learned that his partner was pregnant. He then embarked on a crazy project: to document this year full of discoveries, learning and experience through 365 photos – 1 per day. This series of photos is a treasure trove of memories, especially for his daughter Mia, born in July 2023. But how can we make this project even more meaningful?
It was during a conversation in December 2023, when the whole family got together for the first time in Brussels, across the borders (Canada, Switzerland, Belgium), that the idea of holding an exhibition in aid of Omoana, the charity for which Chloé works, was born. And so the adventure began!
Chloé joined Omoana just over 2 years ago, with a view to working in particular with former child soldiers, a population that is particularly close to her heart. As she puts it: ‘Leaving these children aside means creating a time bomb. Reaching out to these children means giving peace a chance’. With both their parents born and raised in Africa, and Chloé having lived there, the continent has always held a special significance for Max and Chloé. As they have always been so close-knit, they wanted to hold an event that reflected them, as a family, in the place where they grew up. So it was only natural that they should join forces for this exhibition, and in their own small way help to make the world a fairer place. And in so doing, they will be teaching Mia that helping your neighbour is also helping yourself and, above all, that we are never too much to help each other up.”

A huge thank you to everyone who attended and all those who helped organise the evening, especially to L’Accord Vin, Atelier du Photographe, ZLAB et L’Usine.


4j8a2276

Color My Geneva supports Omoana for RACE FOR GIFT 2024!

For its participation in the 2024 edition of RACE FOR GIFT, Omoana is lucky enough to be able to count on the support of COLOR MY GENEVA media as a partner!

But what is Color My Geneva?

Color my Geneva is a digital medium that will be celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2021. Its readership is made up of almost 50,000 curious people in the Geneva area looking for ways to make the most of their free time. They highlight the lifestyle, leisure activities and good deals that the canton of Geneva has to offer its residents. Their website consists of a community diary and a journalistic section. It is visited by more than 10,000 unique visitors a month, and they maintain an active and dynamic presence on social networks with almost 50,000 followers across all platforms (Instagram, Facebook and Tik Tok). And soon you’ll even be able to find them in Neuchâtel and Lausanne, as they’re in the process of developing a wider presence in French-speaking Switzerland!

Color my Geneva is all about diversity and dynamism. It’s a platform that reflects the city: cosmopolitan, diverse, on the move, where people from all walks of life bring their own culture and projects. A tiny city of Calvin where the diversity of cultural representation and the number of proposals rival the biggest European cities.

In other words, their values and dynamism have everything in common with Omoana, and we’re delighted to be able to combine our two images! Many thanks to them!

Don’t delay in following their social media accounts or visiting their website!


 rea0118

L'annonce - 20 ans d'Omoana

Youth living with HIV face various challenges. One of them is to apprehend his/her partners reaction after disclosing his/her HIV status. Youth having been exposed to such situations tell us about their experience through a creative dance.

This video is part of a series adapted from our show Résilience.

Acting, dancing and clip conceptualisation : Mukungu Enock Jonathan ; Mutesi Sharon ; Kasoga Winnifred ; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil ; Nyanzi Huzairu ; Bazibu Micheal;  Namirimu Teddy

With the support of : Federation Genevoise de Coopération, Ville de Genève, Etat de Genève

Filming-Editing : Reagan Giriwa

Musique : Sauti Sol- Suzanna ; Shakira- Waka Waka soundtrack


 rea0464

Est-ce que le VIH définira nos vies ? - 20 ans d'Omoana

When HIV first appeared in Uganda, it heralded a disaster beyond measure. A few decades later, young people whose lives have been affected by the virus tell us whether they will let it dictate their lives.

Acting, singing and conceptualisation of the video: Mukungu Enock Jonathan; Mutesi Sharon; Kasoga Winnifred; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil; Nyanzi Huzairu

With the support of : Federation Genevoise de Coopération, City of Geneva, Canton of Geneva

Capture and editing: Reagan Giriwa


Healing the wounds of civil war - Le Courrier (FR)

Read an article in French about the work of our partner vivo Uganda in Le Courrier, written by Guy Zurkinden.

le courrier 20.03.2024 page de garde
le courrier 20.03.2024 page article

 rea0387

Girl power: Young women against slut-shaming in Uganda - 20 years of Omoana

Watch our video on slut-shaming in relation to STD contraction in Uganda.

This is one of a series of video clips adapted from the show Résilience developed by former beneficiaries of the “Omoana House” project to mark the organisation’s 20th anniversary.

Acting, singing and video conceptualisation: Mukungu Enock Jonathan; Mutesi Sharon; Kasoga Winnifred; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil; Nyanzi Huzairu

With the support of the Fédération Genevoise de Coopération

Capture and editing: Reagan Giriwa


 rea0056

Feedback on the Résilience show - 20 years of Omoana

When people are born with HIV, society sometimes makes them believe that they will not be able to have a normal life. However, if given the necessary means and care, they can die old like any other person. Young people supported in their childhood by the Omoana association presented a show in Ugandan schools about resilience in the face of HIV/AIDS. In this video, students having attended it tell us what they learned.

Acting, singing and clip conceptualisation: Mukungu Enock Jonathan ; Mutesi Sharon ; Kasoga Winnifred ; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil ; Nyanzi Huzairu ; Bazibu Micheal; Namirimu Teddy

With the support of: Federation Genevoise de Coopération

Filming-Editing: Reagan Giriwa

img 1829

"Family Together", Soutenir les familles des enfants en conflit avec la loi - Nouvelles d'Omoana - Mai 2024

En Ouganda et en Irak, les enfants en conflit avec la loi ont généralement été exposés à des situations de violence extrême. Les différentes formes d’exploitation, qui incluent notamment la prostitution, les travaux dangereux, la vente de drogues ou l’affiliation à des groupes armés ont affecté leur développement. Grand nombre de ceux suivis par les partenaires d’Omoana ont également été placés en détention dans des conditions difficiles, loin de leurs proches. A leur retour, il n’est pas toujours aisé pour les familles de savoir comment les soutenir sur le plan émotionnel.

Ainsi, Omoana et ses partenaires ont créé l’approche « Family Together ». Il s’agit de sessions interactives pour aider leur entourage à savoir comment accueillir au mieux les enfants de retour de détention.

Ils sont invités à réfléchir aux causes et facteurs contextuels qui amènent les enfants vers ces situations d’exploitation. Ils sont aussi amenés à s’inspirer des personnes clés qui ont eu un impact positif dans leur propre vie pour mieux soutenir des enfants ou des jeunes de leurs familles. Des sessions sur le développement de l’enfant et de l’adolescent, ainsi que sur l’impact des traumatismes sur ceux-ci, sont abordés de manière didactique. Des méthodes de gestion du stress pour les parents sont aussi proposées. Cela est complété par des exercices interactifs sur la communication et la discipline, avec des mises en situation inspirées du théâtre forum. A travers ceux-ci, ils explorent une manière de guider les enfants en leur faisant savoir quel comportement est acceptable et lequel ne l’est pas, d’une façon à la fois ferme et bienveillante. Ils discutent finalement de comment renforcer leur confiance en eux. En parallèle de ces sessions de groupes, les membres des familles ont aussi accès à un suivi psychologique individuel.

Les enfants en conflit avec la loi sont avant tout des victimes de systèmes d’exploitation, et demandent toute l’attention nécessaire. Cette méthode utilisée par les partenaires d’Omoana a pour but de mettre les familles au centre des solutions. Omoana mise sur un appui technique et s’éloigne du soutien matériel. En effet, renforcer leur capacité à faire face ensemble à l’adversité s’avère essentiel. Cela nécessite des travailleurs sociaux dévoués et compétents, que nous avons la chance d’avoir parmi nos partenaires, et auxquels nous tentons de proposer les outils les plus pertinents possibles.


dsc 9295

Aborder les violences contre les enfants à travers le théâtre forum - Nouvelles d'Omoana - Mai 2024

Aborder le thème de la violence n’est pas toujours aisé. Des présentations, des discussions ou de la documentation peuvent, certes, jouer un rôle dans sa prévention. Lorsque l’on travaille auprès d’enfants et de jeunes souffrant d’exclusion, il est néanmoins nécessaire de trouver des méthodes interactives qui parlent, qui appellent aux sens et aux émotions. Dans ses projets, Omoana utilise pour ce faire le théâtre forum. Issue du théâtre de l’opprimé du brésilien Augusto Boal, cette approche invite les personnes concernées à aborder des situations de violence et à explorer des solutions par le jeu, de manière participative. Une scène racontant une situation qui se finit mal est présentée à un public. Les membres sont ensuite invités à remplacer l’un des personnages, dans la scène qui est rejouée, avec les autres acteurs qui improvisent de manière la plus réaliste possible la suite à donner à la nouvelle situation.

Ainsi, à Gulu en Ouganda, des enfants vivant ou travaillant dans la rue présentent eux-mêmes des scènes de théâtre forum auprès des communautés, afin de discuter ensemble sur la manière de prévenir les violences à leur égard. En Irak, dans la prison pour mineurs de Mossoul, les enfants abordent, à travers le théâtre forum, des situations en lien avec leur retour à la vie civile, et les possibles discriminations qu’ils pourraient encourir. Cela leur permet de préparer leur réintégration en leur faisant vivre des situations et en les explorant à travers le jeu. En utilisant leurs sens, leur aptitude à réagir de manière adaptée contribuera ainsi à éviter un nouveau cycle de violence. D’autres thématiques telles que l’égalité homme-femme sont aussi abordées, et permettent aux jeunes eux-mêmes de chercher des solutions, souvent plus progressistes et novatrices que ce que l’on pourrait imaginer dans des contextes où les normes patriarcales prévalent.

Les travailleurs sociaux des organisations partenaires d’Omoana sont formés à l’approche et font l’objet d’un suivi. Plusieurs ateliers ont déjà été réalisés et les retours sont positifs. En effet, au-delà des simples discours sur les droits humains, ils permettent à chacun de s’approprier de manière très concrète une discussion sur le vivre ensemble, afin de préserver la dignité des enfants touchés par la violence.


image1(8)

Un savoir technique pour aider les enfants touchés par la violence - Nouvelles d'Omoana - Mai 2024

Si les capacités des individus à prendre soin d’eux-mêmes et des autres sont renforcées, leur résilience à l’échelle individuelle et collective sera optimisée. C’est selon cette optique qu’Omoana envisage l’aide aux enfants les plus vulnérables. En impliquant les membres des familles et des communautés dans l’élaboration des solutions, on viendra en aide aux enfants de manière pérenne. Cela est particulièrement vrai lorsque leur protection est menacée. Si l’on prend l’exemple des enfants en conflit avec la loi, l’un des groupes bénéficiaires de l’association, ceux-ci ont souvent été victimes de formes d’exploitation les plus abjectes, telles que la prostitution forcée ou l’asservissement à des groupes armés. Cela entraîne des conséquences désastreuses sur leur bien-être et leurs perspectives d’avenir. Toutes les ressources doivent être mobilisées pour y répondre. Dans ce cadre, Omoana fournit une plus-value technique à ses partenaires qui font face à des situations complexes. En 2023, le manuel « Youth Together », qui offre des sessions psychosociales et de prévention de la violence aux jeunes vulnérables a été réalisé.

Cette année, Omoana a également conçu l’approche « Family Together ». Celle-ci vise à soutenir les parents d’enfants en conflit avec la loi, afin de leur donner des outils pour répondre aux situations engendrées par les traumatismes, la privation de liberté et les conséquences qui en découlent sur leurs droits. En outre, afin de toujours mettre l’accent sur l’interactivité et sur des solutions venant des personnes concernées, le théâtre forum est un outil généralisé sur tous les projets d’Omoana en Ouganda et en Irak. Il fait l’objet d’un article de ce nouveau numéro des Nouvelles d’Omoana. C’est cette plus-value technique, cette énergie constante mise en œuvre au service de solutions concrètes sur des problématiques difficiles, cet accent mis sur l’apprentissage réciproque entre les acteurs engagés sur le terrain, qui fait d’Omoana une organisation particulièrement importante dans les contextes où nous travaillons. Nous vous remercions d’y croire, de vos soutiens, moral et financier, qui nous permettent d’avancer.

Adrien Genoud,
Directeur


whatsapp image 2024 05 27 à 10.37.52 d919a07a

Exposition photos au profit d'Omoana à Bruxelles

Le 23 mai 2024, le photographe Max Collier – frère de Chloé Collier, notre chargée de coordination – a organisé sa toute première exposition photos en partenariat avec et au profit d’Omoana à Bruxelles, en Belgique. Un véritable succès avec environ 200 participant.e.s lors de la soirée !

Pour ceux.celles qui l’ont raté, voici la raison d’être derrière l’événement :

« En juillet 2022, Max apprends la grossesse de sa compagne. Il se lance alors dans un projet un peu fou : documenter cette année remplie de découvertes, d’apprentissages et d’expérience à travers 365 photos – 1 par jour. Cette série de photos constitue alors un trésor de souvenirs, en particulier pour sa fille Mia, née en juillet 2023. Mais comment donner encore plus de sens à ce projet ?
C’est au détour d’une conversation en décembre 2023, alors que toute la famille se réunit pour la première fois à Bruxelles, au-delà des frontières (Canada, Suisse, Belgique), que naît l’idée de faire une exposition au profit d’Omoana, l’association pour laquelle travaille Chloé. Et l’aventure est lancée !
Chloé a rejoins Omoana il y a un peu plus de 2 ans, avec la volonté de travailler notamment en faveur des anciens enfants-soldats, une population qui la touche particulièrement. Comme elle le dit : « Laisser de côté ces enfants, c’est créer une bombe à retardement. Tendre une main à ces enfants, c’est donner une chance à la paix ». Leurs deux parents étant nés et ayant grandis en Afrique, Chloé y ayant vécu, ce continent a toujours eu une signification particulière pour Max et Chloé. Etant aussi fusionnels depuis toujours, ils souhaitaient un événement qui leur ressemble, en famille, là où ils ont grandis. Aussi, c’est tout naturellement qu’ils ont voulu allier leur force pour cette exposition et contribuer ainsi à leur petite échelle à rendre ce monde plus juste. Et ainsi, apprendre à Mia qu’aider son prochain, c’est aussi s’aider soi-même et, surtout, que nous ne sommes jamais de trop pour s’aider mutuellement à se relever. »

Un immense merci à toutes les personnes présentes et à toutes celles qui ont aidé dans l’organisation de la soirée, et plus particulièrement à L’Accord Vin, Atelier du Photographe, ZLAB et L’Usine.


4j8a2276

Color My Geneva soutient Omoana pour RACE FOR GIFT 2024 !

Pour sa participation à l’édition 2024 de RACE FOR GIFT, Omoana a la chance de pouvoir compter sur le soutien du média COLOR MY GENEVA en tant que partenaire !

Mais qu’est-ce que Color My Geneva ?

Color my Geneva, c’est un média digital ayant fêté ses 10 ans en 2021. Près de 50’000 curieux dans le bassin genevois composent leur lectorat, cherchant comment profiter de leurs temps libres. Ils proposent une mise en lumière lifestyle, loisirs & bons plans de la richesse qu’offre le canton de Genève à ses habitants. Leur site internet est composé d’un agenda communautaire et d’une partie journalistique. Il est visité par plus de 10’000 visiteurs uniques mensuels et ils soutiennent une présence active et dynamique sur les réseaux sociaux avec près de 50’000 abonnés tous confondus (Instagram, Facebook et Tik Tok). Et bientôt, vous pourrez même les retrouver dans les villes de Neuchâtel et Lausanne car ils sont en phase de développement pour une présence élargie en Suisse romande !

Color my Geneva, c’est la diversité et le dynamisme. Une plateforme à l’image de la ville : cosmopolite, riche, en mouvement, où la population de tous horizons apporte la culture et les projets qui lui ressemblent. Une minuscule cité de Calvin où la diversité de la représentation culturelle et le nombre de propositions rivalisent avec les plus grandes ville européennes.

Autrement dit, leurs valeurs et leur dynamisme ont tout en commun avec Omoana et nous nous réjouissons de pouvoir associer nos deux images ! Merci à eux !

Ne tardez pas à suivre leurs comptes sur les réseaux sociaux ou à faire un tour sur leur site internet !


 rea0118

L'annonce - 20 ans d'Omoana

Les jeunes vivant avec le VIH, font face à de nombreux défis. L’un d’eux est d’appréhender la réaction de leur partenaire face à l’annonce de leur statut sérologique. Des jeunes ayant été confrontés à de telles situations nous racontent leur expérience à travers une danse créative.

Cette vidéo fait partie d’une série adaptée de notre spectacle Résilience.

Acting, danse et conceptualisation du clip : Mukungu Enock Jonathan ; Mutesi Sharon ; Kasoga Winnifred ; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil ; Nyanzi Huzairu ; Bazibu Micheal;  Namirimu Teddy

Avec le soutien de : Federation Genevoise de Coopération, Ville de Genève, Etat de Genève

Capture et montage : Reagan Giriwa

Musique : Sauti Sol- Suzanna ; Shakira- Waka Waka soundtrack


 rea0464

Est-ce que le VIH définira nos vies ? - 20 ans d'Omoana

Quand le VIH apparaissait en Ouganda, il annonçait un désastre sans commune mesure. Quelques décennies plus tard, des jeunes ayant eu leur vie affectée par le virus nous disent s’ils le laisseront dicter leur vie.

Acting, chant et conceptualisation du clip : Mukungu Enock Jonathan ; Mutesi Sharon ; Kasoga Winnifred ; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil ; Nyanzi Huzairu

Avec le soutien de : Federation Genevoise de Coopération, Ville de Genève, Canton de Genève

Capture et montage : Reagan Giriwa


Soigner les plaies de la guerre civile - Le Courrier

Retrouvez un article présentant le travail de notre partenaire vivo Uganda, dans le Courrier, rédigé par Guy Zurkinden.

le courrier 20.03.2024 page de garde
le courrier 20.03.2024 page article

 rea0387

Girl power : Les jeunes femmes contre le slut-shaming en Ouganda - 20 ans d'Omoana

Retrouvez notre vidéo abordant le slut-shaming en lien avec la contraction des MST en Ouganda.

Celle-ci fait partie d’une série de capsules vidéos adaptées du spectacle Résilience développé par des anciens bénéficiaires du projet « Omoana House » à l’occasion des 20 ans de l’organisation.

Acting, chant et conceptualisation du clip : Mukungu Enock Jonathan ; Mutesi Sharon ; Kasoga Winnifred ; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil ; Nyanzi Huzairu

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Genevoise de Coopération

Capture et montage : Reagan Giriwa


 rea0056

Retours sur le spectacle Résilience - 20 ans d'Omoana

Lorsque les gens naissent avec le VIH, la société leur fait parfois croire qu’ils ne pourront pas avoir une vie normale. Cependant, si on leur donne les moyens et les soins nécessaires, ils peuvent vivre longtemps et en bonne santé comme n’importe quelle autre personne. Des jeunes soutenus dans leur enfance par l’association Omoana ont présenté un spectacle dans des écoles ougandaises au sujet de la résilience face au VIH/sida. Dans cette vidéo, les élèves y ayant assisté témoignent de ce qu’ils ont appris.

Acting, chant et conceptualisation du clip : Mukungu Enock Jonathan ; Mutesi Sharon ; Kasoga Winnifred ; Nabiryo Esther; Hussein Fazil ; Nyanzi Huzairu ; Bazibu Micheal; Namirimu Teddy

Avec le soutien de la Fédération Genevoise de Coopération

Capture et montage : Reagan Giriwa